SAR9 Gen3 Pistol: Specifications and What Changed From the Original SAR9 and Gen2

The most common question about the SAR9 Gen3 is simple: what actually changed? Sarsılmaz publishes separate technical data sheets for the original SAR9, the SAR9 Gen2 and the SAR9 Gen3, so at least part of the answer can be read from the manufacturer’s own figures. This guide puts those sheets side by side, explains which numbers are comparable and which are not, and lists the current Gen3 models. For the whole SAR9 family, including the SOCOM and METE, see our SAR9 pistol guide. For the company behind it, see our Sarsılmaz company guide.

Development and background
The SAR9 was developed by Sarsılmaz at its plant in Düzce, north-western Türkiye. The company says the pistol was selected as Türkiye’s “indigenous and domestic pistol” under the Indigenous Domestic Pistol Development project (ÖYTG), run by the Presidency of Defence Industries (SSB), after trials by a commission of Turkish Armed Forces and General Directorate of Security personnel. Sarsılmaz also says the SAR9 completed a 50,000-round endurance test with one pistol without failure. Both statements come from the manufacturer; we have not seen the trial reports.
Sarsılmaz’s US importer, SAR USA, has sold the company’s pistols in the United States since 2017, according to the company. Guns & Ammo says it introduced the SAR9 to its readers in February 2018.
The Gen3 arrived in 2023. American Rifleman, the journal of the US National Rifle Association, wrote in November 2025 that Sarsilmaz “rolled out its most advanced design yet, the Gen3” in 2023 and that it “endured 150,000 rounds of live-fire testing”. That figure has not been published as a test report. The Gen3 data sheet on the manufacturer’s website is marked revision 0, dated 6 December 2023. The original SAR9 and Gen2 sheets carry December 2023 revision dates too, so those dates describe the documents, not the launch of each generation.
Design and features
The Gen3 keeps the basic layout of the SAR9: a striker-fired, semi-automatic 9×19 mm pistol with a polymer frame. The data sheet lists five product features:
- interchangeable backstraps and side panels in three sizes (S, M, L);
- a Picatinny accessory rail;
- a polymer frame;
- a slide with cooling channels;
- an optic-ready slide cut for a red-dot sight.
The safety system listed on the sheet comprises a manual safety, a trigger safety, a firing-pin safety and a drop safety. Trigger pull is given as 15–25 N, a range rather than a single value.
US reviews add detail that the Sarsılmaz sheet does not. Reviewing the subcompact SAR9 SC Gen3, American Rifleman described a new flat-faced trigger with a red safety blade and a short reset as one of the main Gen3 upgrades. It also reported that the SC Gen3’s slide is cut for optics with the Shield RMSc footprint. Sarsılmaz does not state the optic footprint for the full-size Gen3 on its product page, so we do not assume it is the same.
SAR9 Gen3 specifications
| Specification | SAR9 Gen3 (manufacturer data) |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Sarsılmaz, Düzce, Türkiye |
| Calibre | 9×19 mm |
| Operation | Semi-automatic, polymer frame |
| Magazine capacity | 10 / 15 / 17 / 19 rounds (product page); data sheet adds 21 |
| Barrel length | 113.5 mm (4.46 in) |
| Overall length / height / width | 193 mm / 141.3 mm / 35.7 mm (measured with a 17-round magazine) |
| Slide length / slide width | 185.5 mm / 25.5 mm |
| Sight radius | 162.3 mm |
| Weight | 670 g without magazine; 760 g with empty magazine; 975 g loaded |
| Trigger pull | 15–25 N |
| Rifling | 6 grooves, right-hand, 1:10 in (250 mm) |
| Safeties | Manual, trigger, firing-pin and drop safeties |
Source: Sarsılmaz SAR9 Gen3 product page and technical data sheet (rev. 0, 6 December 2023). The English product page labels the 185.5 mm value “slide width”; the data sheet shows it is the slide length.
SAR9 vs Gen2 vs Gen3: what the data sheets show
| Item | SAR9 (original) | SAR9 Gen2 | SAR9 Gen3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight without magazine | 730 g | 725 g (sheet) | 670 g |
| Barrel length | 113.5 mm | 113.5 mm | 113.5 mm |
| Overall length | 193 mm | 193 mm | 193 mm |
| Overall width | 35.7 mm | 35.7 mm | 35.7 mm |
| Height | 140 mm (17-rd mag) | 159 mm (19-rd mag) | 141.3 mm (17-rd mag) |
| Sight radius | 166 mm | 162 mm | 162.3 mm |
| Capacity options | 10–21 | 10–21 | 10–21 |
| Manual safety listed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Optic cut listed | No | Yes (red-dot cut) | Yes (optic-ready cut) |
| Cooling-channel slide listed | No | No | Yes |
Sources: Sarsılmaz technical data sheets for the SAR9 (rev. 0, 5 Dec 2023), SAR9 Gen2 (rev. 0, 26 Dec 2023) and SAR9 Gen3 (rev. 0, 6 Dec 2023).
Three points follow from the table.
First, the Gen3 is an evolution, not a new size class. Barrel length, overall length, width and slide length are identical across the three generations.
Second, weight is the clearest measurable change. On the manufacturer’s sheets, the Gen3 is 60 g lighter than the original SAR9 and 55 g lighter than the Gen2 without a magazine. The other weight figures cannot be compared directly, because the Gen2 sheet measures with a 19-round magazine and the others with a 17-round magazine. The same applies to height. One data problem needs flagging: the Gen2 product page on Sarsılmaz’s website gives 560 g without a magazine, while the Gen2 data sheet gives 725 g. We use the data sheet and will update this table if the manufacturer clarifies.
Third, the optic cut is not new to the Gen3; it first appears on the Gen2 sheet. What the Gen3 sheet adds is the cooling-channel slide. Sarsılmaz does not explain the roughly 4 mm shorter sight radius of the Gen2 and Gen3.
The Gen3 family
| Model | Barrel | Weight (no magazine) | Overall length | Capacity (data sheet) | Positioning (manufacturer) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAR9 Gen3 | 113.5 mm | 670 g | 193 mm | 10–21 | Full size |
| SAR9 SC Gen3 | 85 mm | 550 g | 163 mm | 12–21 | Subcompact for concealed carry |
| SAR9 T SC Gen3 | 100 mm | 555 g | 185 mm | 12–21 | Subcompact grip, longer barrel, finger-rest magazine |
| SAR9 T C Gen3 | 119 mm | 690 g | 197 mm | 10–21 | Compact grip with a longer barrel |
| SAR9 Sport Gen3 | 133.5 mm | 730 g | 213 mm | 10–21 | Long-slide sport model |
Sources: Sarsılmaz product pages and technical data sheets, checked 18 October 2026. The product pages list fewer capacity options for some models than the data sheets. A SAR9 C Gen3 is listed in the official catalogue menu, but its product page returned a server error on 18 October 2026, so we do not give its data.
In the United States, SAR USA also sells models under its own names. Guns & Ammo describes the SAR9 SOCOM Comp as “a third-generation version of the SAR9”, built on the SAR9 SOCOM Compact. Sarsılmaz has also said that Florida’s Doral Police Department began testing and evaluating a “SAR9 Gen 3 Frontline” series in 2026, which the company says adds tritium night sights, an optic-ready slide, an extended magazine well and higher capacity. Sarsılmaz has not published a data sheet for the Frontline models.
International context
The SAR9 Gen3 competes in the crowded class of full-size, striker-fired 9 mm polymer pistols. Its obvious reference point is the Glock 17 Gen5.
| Item | SAR9 Gen3 | Glock 17 Gen5 |
|---|---|---|
| Maker / origin | Sarsılmaz, Türkiye | Glock, Austria |
| Barrel length | 113.5 mm | 114 mm |
| Weight without magazine | 670 g | 630 g |
| Weight with empty magazine | 760 g | 708 g |
| Standard capacity | 17 (10/15/19, sheet adds 21) | 17 (optional 19/24/31/33) |
| Trigger pull (as published) | 15–25 N | 26 N |
| Manual safety | Listed on data sheet | Not part of the standard Safe Action system |
Sources: Sarsılmaz SAR9 Gen3 data sheet; Glock G17 Gen5 technical data (us.glock.com), checked 18 October 2026. Overall length is omitted because the two makers measure it differently.
On published figures, the Glock 17 Gen5 is the lighter pistol by 40 g without a magazine, and it offers a wider range of factory magazines. Its institutional record is far larger: Glock pistols are issued by many armies and police forces, while the Gen3’s documented institutional use is so far limited to evaluation. The Gen3’s main distinguishing points on paper are the manual safety option and the extent of the data Sarsılmaz publishes. Our SAR9 vs Glock comparison covers the Glock 17 and 19 in more detail. Envanter Medya has also published a Turkish-language SAR9 Gen3 vs Glock 19 comparison. Other pistols in the same class include the Walther PDP, CZ P-10 F, SIG Sauer P320 and CANiK’s METE SFT, which we compare in Sarsılmaz vs Canik.
Confirmed users and markets
- United States, civilian market. The Gen3 models are sold through SAR USA, which Sarsılmaz says is based in Miami.
- United States, law enforcement (evaluation). The Doral Police Department in Florida began testing and evaluating SAR9 pistols, including the Gen 3 Frontline series, according to a 2026 Sarsılmaz statement. That is an evaluation, not an adoption. Doral adopted a different Sarsılmaz product, the SAR 109T submachine gun.
- Europe. Sarsılmaz presented the SAR9 Gen3 at Enforce Tac 2026 in Nuremberg, a trade fair for law-enforcement buyers. We found no European contract for the Gen3.
- Military. We found no official confirmation of any armed force issuing the SAR9 Gen3. Türkiye’s service pistol from Sarsılmaz under ÖYTG is the SAR9 METE, a different model.
The US police pistol most often linked to Sarsılmaz, the SAR9 SOCOM adopted by Galveston Police Department in Texas in 2024, is also a separate model, not a Gen3.
What makes it notable?
The Gen3 is a refinement of a known design, not a reinvention. On the manufacturer’s own data, it is lighter than earlier SAR9s, keeps the same dimensions and adds a cooling-channel slide to the optic cut introduced with the Gen2. Sarsılmaz publishes more data than many rivals, including three weight values, a trigger-pull range, sight radius and rifling. That makes the pistol easy to compare, though the Gen2 weight discrepancy shows the published data still needs checking. Independent coverage has been positive, with American Rifleman naming the SC Gen3 its “Gun of the Week” in November 2025, but this is media coverage, not an independent test programme. The Gen3’s institutional track record is still thin compared with established rivals.
Frequently asked questions
What is the SAR9 Gen3?
The SAR9 Gen3 is the third generation of Sarsılmaz’s SAR9 pistol: a 9×19 mm, striker-fired, polymer-framed semi-automatic pistol made in Düzce, Türkiye. Sarsılmaz calls it the newest and most technologically advanced version of the series.
How much does the SAR9 Gen3 weigh?
According to Sarsılmaz, the full-size SAR9 Gen3 weighs 670 g without a magazine, 760 g with an empty magazine and 975 g loaded.
What is the difference between the SAR9 Gen2 and Gen3?
Both have a 113.5 mm barrel and a 193 mm overall length. On the manufacturer’s data sheets, the Gen3 is 55 g lighter without a magazine (670 g against 725 g) and adds a slide with cooling channels. Both list an optic cut for a red-dot sight.
Is the SAR9 Gen3 optics-ready?
Yes. The Gen3 data sheet lists an optic-ready slide cut. American Rifleman reported that the subcompact SC Gen3 accepts Shield RMSc-footprint optics. Sarsılmaz does not state the footprint for the full-size model.
What magazine capacity does the SAR9 Gen3 have?
The product page lists 10, 15, 17 and 19-round magazines. The technical data sheet also lists a 21-round option.
Who makes the SAR9 Gen3?
Sarsılmaz makes it at its plant in Düzce, Türkiye. SAR USA imports and distributes it in the United States.
Related Defense and Tech articles
- Sarsılmaz: Company, Products, History and Global Presence
- SAR9 Pistol Explained: Variants, Specifications and Users
- SAR9 vs Glock 17 and Glock 19: Specifications Compared
- Sarsılmaz vs Canik: Companies and SAR9 vs METE Compared
- Turkish Pistol Manufacturers and Brands Explained
- Turkish Small Arms Industry: Companies, Products and Exports
Sources
- Sarsılmaz — SAR9 Gen3 product page
- Sarsılmaz — SAR9 Gen3 technical data sheet (PDF, rev. 0, 6 Dec 2023)
- Sarsılmaz — SAR9 Gen2 product page and technical data sheet (PDF)
- Sarsılmaz — SAR9 product page and technical data sheet (PDF)
- Sarsılmaz — SAR9 SC Gen3 data sheet (PDF), SAR9 T SC Gen3 (PDF), SAR9 T C Gen3 (PDF), SAR9 Sport Gen3 (PDF)
- Sarsılmaz — “Second major US award for the SAR 9” (news, Turkish)
- Sarsılmaz — SAR 109T enters Doral police service; SAR9 Gen 3 Frontline evaluation (news, Turkish)
- Sarsılmaz — Enforce Tac 2026 (news, Turkish)
- American Rifleman — Gun Of The Week: Sarsilmaz SAR9 SC Gen3 (7 Nov 2025)
- Guns & Ammo — SAR9 SOCOM Comp 9mm
- GLOCK — G17 Gen5 technical data
- Envanter Medya — SAR9 vs Glock 19 technical comparison (Turkish)
Last verified: 18 October 2026. Specifications are the manufacturer’s published figures; manufacturer claims are attributed as such.



